clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List: D’Andre Swift heads group of 12 SEC running backs featured

It’s tailback day!

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 01 SEC Championship Game - Georgia v Alabama Photo by Todd Kirkland/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

12 running backs from the SEC are featured in the 2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List.

The watch list, which was revealed on Wednesday, includes a litany of talent from your favorite conference across 11 teams.

Perhaps the most notable names of the bunch are D’Andre Swift and Najee Harris. Swift, of the Georgia Bulldogs and Harris, of the Alabama Crimson Tide, are likely to lead the charge in the conference for their respective teams. We know by now that Georgia and Alabama are used to distributing great tailbacks. These two should no doubt keep that tradition going in 2019.

Elsewhere, Kylin Hill of the Mississippi State Bulldogs is also among the man vying for the award. Hill enjoyed a bounty of success in 2018 with the Bulldogs. He will likely remain the bell cow in Joe Moorhead’s offense this year, so expect big things from him.

The team with two running backs on the watch list is the Arkansas Razorbacks. Those tailbacks are Rakeem Boyd and Devwah Whaley. Boyd picked up over 700 rushing yards as a sophomore last year and should be poised for big things again. Whaley, meanwhile, will be aiming to return to form after playing just seven games in 2018.

After having the best season of his career in 2018, Lamical Perine of the Florida Gators landed on the watch list, as well. Perine had over 800 rushing yards in 2018, with seven touchdowns and a YPC of 6.2. Lamical will be poised to do big things again in Dan Mullen’s system and could usurp the 1,000-yard mark for the first time in his career if he’s lucky.

Rounding out the group are Kam Martin of the Auburn Tigers, Larry Rountree III of the Missouri Tigers, Ty Chandler of the Tennessee Volunteers, Scottie Phillips of the Ole Miss Rebels, Jashaun Corbin of the Texas A&M Aggies and Ke’Shawn Vaughn of the Vanderbilt Commodores.