clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list: 18 SEC stars featured

Grant Delpit, Dylan Moses, Raekwon Davis among others were named to the list.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 29 Ole Miss at LSU Photo by Stephen Lew/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

18 defensive stars from the SEC were named to the 2019 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list on Wednesday.

The 18 players for the conference is the most out of any conference in America, so be forewarned: The SEC’s defense won’t be taking any breaks in 2019.

The Alabama Crimson Tide lead the charge in the conference, boasting four players on the list. The names aren’t a surprise to many at all. Raekwon Davis, Trevon Diggs, Anfernee Jennings and Dylan Moses all made the cut for one of the top prizes among defensive awards. Meanwhile, the LSU Tigers are second to Alabama in players featured, as they have three on the list. Those include Grant Delpit, Kristian Fulton and Jacob Phillips.

Four other teams have multiple names on the list. The Auburn Tigers (Derrick Brown, Nick Coe), Florida Gators (CJ Henderson, Jabari Zuniga), Mississippi St. Bulldogs (Cameron Dantzler, Erroll Thompson) and Missouri Tigers (DeMarkus Acy, Cale Garrett) each have a couplet of players featured.

Elsewhere, the Georgia Bulldogs, Tennessee Volunteers and Texas A&M Aggies were able to get a player on the list. Bulldogs defensive back J.R. Reed, Vols linebacker Darrell Taylor, and A&M defensive lineman Justin Madubuike all were able to make the cut.