clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Outland Trophy watch list: 13 SEC linemen featured

The SEC is tied with the Big Ten for the most representatives on the list.

Auburn v Mississippi State Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

13 standout linemen from the Southeastern Conference are prominently featured on the 2019 Outland Trophy watch list.

The Outland Trophy is handed out each year to the best lineman in the country. This phrasing allows for both offensive and defensive linemen to be eligible for the award.

There were four defensive linemen from the SEC who made the cut for the Outland watch list. Leading the way is Auburn Tigers standout Derrick Brown. Brown is joined by Quinton Bohanna of the Kentucky Wildcats, Javon Kinlaw of the South Carolina Gamecocks and Justin Madubuike of the Texas A&M Aggies.

As far as offensive linemen go, there were nine from the conference tabbed on the list. Among tackles there were four, among guards there were four as well and one center. Two tackles came from the Georgia Bulldogs, as standouts Andrew Thomas and Isaiah Wilson were featured on the list. They are joined by the likes of Jedrick Wills Jr. from the Alabama Crimson Tide and Prince Tega Wanogho of Auburn. UGA also had another player, guard Solomon Kindley, be featured on the list. They are the only team from the conference to have three representatives on the list.

Kindley is joined by fellow guards Alex Leatherwood of Alabama, Logan Sternberg of Kentucky, and Tre’vour Wallace-Simms of the Missouri Tigers. The one center that was selected from the conference was Darryl Williams of the Mississippi State Bulldogs.