clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Butkus Award Watch List: Dylan Moses headlines list featuring 14 SEC linebackers

This is quite the assortment of talent.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 03 Alabama at LSU Photo by John Korduner/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

14 linebackers from the SEC made it onto the 2019 Butkus Award Watch List.

Leading the charge is Dylan Moses of the Alabama Crimson Tide. Moses is one of the more prominent names on this group, as he’s coming off an excellent season in Tuscaloosa. He’s not the only Tide LB to make the cut either. Anfernee Jennings and Terrell Lewis join Moses on the list as well.

But Alabama is not the team with the most players featured on the list from the SEC. That’s the LSU Tigers. Led by K’Lavon Chaisson, the Bayou Bengals have four linebackers on the list. Chaisson is joined by Michael Divinity Jr., Jacob Phillips and Patrick Queen.

The Mississippi St. Bulldogs are the only other team in the SEC to feature multiple linebackers on the list. Those LBs are Willie Gay Jr. and Erroll Thompson. Each of these players had very good 2018s and are projected to play very well again this coming year.

Five other teams had a player featured on the list. De’Jon Harris (Arkansas Razorbacks), Mohamed Sanogo (Ole Miss Rebels), Cale Garrett (Missouri Tigers), T.J. Brunson (South Carolina Gamecocks) and Darrell Taylor (Tennessee Volunteers) round out the list for the conference, as they yet again have a huge assembly of high-tier talent on defense.