clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The SEC Coaching Carousel Scorecard

With the regular season well in the books and the bowl season full upon us that means the annual coaching carousel is in full swing. Keeping track of it all can be a bit confusing in a normal year but throw in the prospect of keeping track of new programs due to conference expansion and it's almost impossible for the regular sports fan.

To help everyone out, we here at TSK have put together an easy-to-use scorecard of the coaching changes in the Southeastern Conference. For the most part, the turnover news has been dominated by announcements of departures for better opportunities and that's what this chart reflects.

There are several exceptions though.

The main one is Ole Miss who kicked off this year's festivities way back at the start of November with the firing of head coach Houston Nutt, offensive coordinator David Lee and defensive coordinator Tyrone Nix. Arkansas also has a bit of a regime change with Offensive Coordinator Garrick McGee leaving to take the head job at UAB and Defensive Coordinator Willy Robinson resigning.

For these, as well as the Texas A&M head coaching position, the chart after the jump indicates the incoming hires.

Head Coach Offensive Coordinator Defensive Coordinator

Nick Saban

Doug Nussmeier
from Washington
Kirby Smart


Bobby Petrino

Paul Petrino
from Illinois OC
Paul Hayes
from OSU DC

Gene Chizik

Gus Malzahn
to AR. State HC
Brian VanGorder
from Atlanta Falcons

Will Muschamp

Brent Pease
from Boise St.
Dan Quinn


Mark Richt

Mike Bobo

Todd Grantham


Joker Phillips

Randy Sanders

Rick Minter
from Indiana St. LBC

Les Miles

Greg Studrawa

John Chavis

Ole Miss

Hugh Freeze
from AR State HC
Dan Werner
Matt Luke
Dave Womack
from AR State DC
Miss State

Dan Mullen

Les Koenning

Chris Wilson

S. Carolina

Steve Spurrier


Lorenzo Ward

Derek Dooley

Jim Chaney

Sal Sunseri
from Alabama OLC

James Franklin

John Donovan

Bob Shoop

Texas A&M

Kevin Sumlin
from Houston HC
Kliff Kingsbury
from Houston Co-OC
Mark Snyder
from USF

Gary Pinkel

David Yost

David Steckel

Blue indicates positions that have been filled. Red indicates positions that are still open.

UPDATE 12/28: South Carolina's interim Defensive Coordinator (and co-coordinator since 2009) Lorenzo Ward is named to the job permanently.

UPDATE 1/3: Tennessee Defensive Coordinator Justin Wilcox has taken the DC position at Washington. Texas A&M reportedly hires Houston co-Offensive Coordinator Kliff Kingsbury as the Aggies Offensive Coordinator. Kentucky names Indiana State linebacker's coach Rick Minter as co-defensive coordinator (with Steve Brown).

UPDATE 1/9: Auburn has hired the defensive coordinator of the NFL Atlanta Falcons, Brian VanGorder, to fill the team's DC vacancy. Texas A&M's new defensive coordinator will be University of South Florida DC Mark Snyder. Boise State OC Brent Pease will be the Florida Gators next offensive coordinator.

UPDATE 1/13: Tennessee's new Defensive Coordinator is former Alabama Offensive Line Coach Sal Sunseri.

UPDATE 1/14: Ole Miss promotes Dan Werner and Matt Luke to Co-Offensive Coordinators.

UPDATE 1/16: Alabama hires Washington OC Doug Nussmeier as the Crimson Tide's offensive coordinator.