clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith wins 2021 Heisman Trophy

Smith makes history in earning coveted trophy.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: JAN 01 Rose Bowl Game Semifinal Game - Notre Dame v Alabama Photo by George Walker/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

DeVonta Smith, Heisman Trophy winner.

The Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver won the coveted honor on Tuesday. In taking home the trophy, Smith became the first wide receiver to win the award since Desmond Howard back in 1991.

Smith finished first in a loaded field, featuring three other SEC players in the Top 5. That crop included his teammates Mac Jones and Najee Harris as well as Florida Gators quarterback Kyle Trask. The other player not from the SEC was Trevor Lawrence, as the Clemson Tigers quarterback finished second behind Smith.

DeVonta is the third player in Alabama history to win the honor. He joins a group that includes Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry, which we’d like to think is pretty damn good company. He’s also the seventh player from the SEC to win the award in the 21st Century. In that group, he joins Ingram and Henry, as well as Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Johnny Manziel and Joe Burrow. Once again, pretty darn good company.

Congratulations to DeVonta Smith on the honor!