clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joe Burrow is your 2019 Heisman Trophy winner

To the surprise of... nooooooo-body.

SEC Championship - Georgia v LSU Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

Joe Burrow won the Heisman Trophy in a landslide.

The vaunted LSU Tigers quarterback made history Saturday night when he became the winner of the prestigious award. Burrow received 90.7 percent of the first-place votes handed out, received 2,608 points in general, which were 1,846 points better than Jalen Hurts of the Oklahoma Sooners, who finished second. And he also was on 95.5 percent of all ballots cast for the award this year.

Three of those marks are records for the award. So in a record-setting year for the Fighting Tigers QB, he continues to smash more and more along the way.

The full ballot saw Burrow finishing in front of Hurts and Justin Fields and Chase Young of the Ohio State Buckeyes to round out the Top 4. Young, OSU’s standout defensive end, finished second in first-place votes. Of course, the 20 Young fielded is paltry in comparison to Burrow’s 841. But, he still had the second-most. J.K. Dobbins of Ohio State finished sixth in the on Heisman ballot, giving the Bucks three players in the Top 6. Jonathan Taylor of the Wisconsin Badgers finished fifth after yet another outstanding year.

Trevor Lawrence of the Clemson Tigers was seventh, Chuba Hubbard of the Oklahoma State Cowboys was eighth, Travis Etienne of Clemson was ninth and Tua Tagovailoa of the Alabama Crimson Tide, who did field a first-place vote on one Heisman voter’s ballot, finished 10th.