clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kentucky, SEC Makes History on NBA Draft Night


Kentucky was the biggest collegiate winner of last night's NBA Draft, but the SEC overall had a pretty good night as well.

The league had 12 players drafted in total, the most of any conference this year. The Big 12 was second with nine (A&M and MIzzou still count here for now), and tied for second was Europe, if you want to count that as a conference. The ACC and Big East tied for third with eight selections.

Kentucky had six players taken, four in the first round and two in the second. The six selections across the first two rounds is a record, and four first round picks ties a record for national champions. UK also became the first school ever to occupy the first two slots overall, with Anthony Davis taken first and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist coming off the board second. Florida's Bradley Beal was taken third, making this only the second time in history that the top three picks all came from the same conference.

Vanderbilt also had a strong showing with three selections overall. John Jenkins went first at No. 23, and Festus Ezeli and Jeffery Taylor went back-to-back with the last pick of the first round and the first pick of the second round. Mississippi State's Arnett Moultrie was taken a couple spots before Ezeli, making MSU the only school this year to have a player taken in the first round of the NFL, MLB, and NBA Drafts. LSU found its way into the draft with Justin Hamilton being taken 45th overall.

A full listing of the picks follows. There are 30 picks in each round, so everyone from Taylor at No. 31 and on down was a second round selection. A couple of players were traded, so the teams shown below are the ones they ended up with, not the ones they were drafted by.

Pick Team Player College
1 New Orleans Anthony Davis Kentucky
2 Charlotte Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Kentucky
3 Washington Bradley Beal Florida
18 Houston Terrence Jones Kentucky
23 Atlanta John Jenkins Vanderbilt
27 Philadelphia Arnett Moultrie Mississippi State
29 Chicago Marquis Teague Kentucky
30 Golden State Festus Ezeli Vanderbilt
31 Charlotte Jeffery Taylor Vanderbilt
42 Milwaukee Doron Lamb Kentucky
45 Miami Justin Hamilton LSU
46 New Orleans Darius Miller Kentucky