clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List: Tua Tagovailoa headlines group of six SEC quarterbacks featured

WATCH LIST season marches on.

College Football Playoff National Championship Presented By AT&T - Alabama v Clemson Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Six quarterbacks from the Southeastern Conference were named to the 2019 Davey O’Brien Award watch list on Tuesday.

The list revealed on Tuesday featured 30 quarterbacks from across the country, all vying for the award handed out each year to the best quarterback in the nation. The six QBs from the SEC is the most by any conference, edging out the Pac-12, which has five, and the Big 12 which has four.

Tua Tagovailoa is the biggest name from the SEC to be mentioned. Tagovailoa enjoyed bountiful success in the 2018 season and should be poised for more prosperity again with the Alabama Crimson Tide this coming season.

Jake Fromm of the Georgia Bulldogs is also among the signal callers who were named to the watch list. Fromm has been great under center the last two seasons, leading UGA to the College Football Playoff in his freshman year and to the Sugar Bowl a season ago. The expectations are high again in Athens, and Fromm’s ability is partially why.

The other four quarterbacks to be featured on the list come from two SEC East teams and two from the SEC West. Jake Bentley of the South Carolina Gamecocks is on the list, as is Feleipe Franks of the Florida Gators. Bentley and Franks are joined by Kellen Mond of the Texas A&M Aggies and Joe Burrow of the LSU Tigers.