clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Grant Delpit, CJ Henderson, Xavier McKinney and J.R. Reed named as 2019 Thorpe Award semifinalists

The four standout defensive backs were named semifinalists on Monday.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 21 LSU at Vanderbilt Photo by Andy Altenburger/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Four standout defensive backs from the Southeastern Conference are semifinalists for the 2019 Thorpe Award.

CJ Henderson (Florida Gators), Grant Delpit (LSU Tigers), J.R. Reed (Georgia Bulldogs) and Xavier McKinney (Alabama Crimson Tide) were announced as four of the 14 semifinalists for the award given to the best defensive back in the nation. The quartet gives the SEC the most nominees of any conference in the nation, as no other even had three.

The rest of the list includes the likes of Jevon Holland (Oregon Ducks), Tanner Muse (Clemson Tigers), Jeffrey Okudah (Ohio State Buckeyes), Alohi Gilman (Notre Dame Fighting Irish) and A.J. Green (Oklahoma State Cowboys).

Additionally, Essang Bassey (Wake Forest Demon Deacons), Douglas Coleman III (Texas Tech Red Raiders), Luq Barcoo (San Diego State Aztecs), Elijah Riley (Army Black Knights) and Amik Robertson (Louisiana Tech Bulldogs) made the cut for the coveted honor, also.

This should be a fun watch the rest of the way. The remaining four players all have a chance to help lead their teams to an SEC Championship and perhaps a College Football Playoff berth as well if things shake out well.

The announcement of the Thorpe Award winner will come later this December.