clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyler Murray is your 2018 Heisman Trophy winner

The OU QB was tabbed as the latest Heisman Trophy winner over Tua Tagovailoa and Dwayne Haskins.

Heisman Trophy Presentation Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images

It’s back-to-back for the Oklahoma Sooners.

After Baker Mayfield won it last season, the Heisman Trophy now belongs to Kyler Murray. Murray was voted as the 2018 winner of the Heisman over the likes of Tua Tagovailoa of the Alabama Crimson Tide and Dwayne Haskins of the Ohio State Buckeyes. It was elite competition for Murray to beat out, but it’s clear that he did the damn job good enough to beat ‘em.

Had Tagovailoa won, he would’ve joined Derrick Henry and Mark Ingram as Alabama Heisman winners. And in addition, he would’ve become the first QB in Alabama history to win the Trophy, of course. But that will have to wait at least another season now.

Congrats to Kyler, who ‘Bama of course will see at the Orange Bowl in three weeks time.