clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

More than 25 former SEC players left in 2017 MLB postseason

Seven former SEC standouts play with the Boston Red Sox.

MLB: Houston Astros at Boston Red Sox Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

The Southeastern Conference is represented by 28 players in the 2017 MLB postseason.

Georgia and LSU lead the way with four players each. Alabama, Arkansas and Tennessee each have three players while Florida, South Carolina and Vanderbilt have two apiece. Auburn is the lone school without a player in the postseason.

The American League is the most represented with 17 players, including seven with the Boston Red Sox. There are 11 players with National League teams, and the Los Angeles Dodgers having the highest total at five. Three of Georgia’s four former players suit up for Los Angeles, who will play Justin Grimm (another former Bulldog) and the defending World Series champion Chicago Cubs in a NL Divisional Series.

Former Tennessee standout Zack Godley is the lone player on the Diamondbacks.

Alabama (3): Alex Avila (Cubs), David Robertson (Yankees), Josh Rutledge (Red Sox)

Arkansas (3): Andrew Benintendi (Red Sox), Logan Forsythe (Dodgers), Dallas Keuchel (Astros)

Auburn: None

Florida (2): Austin Maddox (Red Sox) and Taylor Gushue (Nationals)

Georgia (4): Alex Wood (Dodgers), Josh Fields (Dodgers), Kyle Farmer (Dodgers), Justin Grimm (Cubs)

Kentucky (1): Jason Kipnis (Indians)

LSU (4): Alex Bregman (Astros), Will Harris (Astros), Nick Goody (Indians), Andrew Stevenson (Nationals)

Mississippi (1): Drew Pomeranz (Red Sox)

Mississippi State (1): Mitch Moreland (Red Sox)

Missouri (1): Max Scherzer (Nationals)

South Carolina (2): Jackie Bradley, Jr. (Red Sox), Jordan Montgomery (Yankees)

Texas A&M (1): Ross Stripling (Dodgers)

Tennessee (3): Zack Godley (Diamondbacks), Chase Headley (Yankees), Yan Gomes (Indians)

Vanderbilt (2): Sonny Gray (Yankees), David Price (Red Sox)