clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dak Prescott headlines group of SEC rookies on 2016 PFWA All-Rookie Team

The former Mississippi State quarterback is one of eight rookies from the SEC to land on the team.

Divisional Round - Green Bay Packers v Dallas Cowboys Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott is the centerpiece of a group of eight rookies formerly from the SEC to land on the 2016 PFWA All-Rookie Team.

The team, revealed on Tuesday afternoon, includes several of Prescott’s contemporaries from his time with the Mississippi State Bulldogs. Some were teammates in the form of defensive lineman Chris Jones of the Kansas City Chiefs and others were rivals, namely Laremy Tunsil of the Miami Dolphins by way of the Ole Miss Rebels.

Among those picked to the team were former Florida Gators Vernon Hargreaves III of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Keanu Neal of the Atlanta Falcons. After spending time patrolling the secondary in Gainesville, both Hargreaves and Neal played terrifically on rival teams in the NFC South. Neal’s teammate Deion Jones made the cut as well as the former LSU Tigers linebacker had an outstanding rookie season. Elsewhere, former Georgia Bulldogs linebacker Leonard Floyd made enough of an impact with the Chicago Bears to find himself alongside Jones in the linebacking corp while San Diego Chargers tight end Hunter Henry reps the Arkansas Razorbacks well with his inclusion on the team.

The full list, which also features Dallas Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott, who won the PFWA Rookie and Offensive Rookie of the Year awards, can be seen here.

Player Team/School
Player Team/School
Dak Prescott Dallas Cowboys/Missisippi State
Hunter Henry San Diego Chargers/Arkansas
Laremy Tunsil Miami Dolphins/Ole Miss
Chris Jones Kansas City Chiefs/Mississippi State
Leonard Floyd Chicago Bears/Georgia
Deion Jones Atlanta Falcons/LSU
Vernon Hargreaves III Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Florida
Keanu Neal Atlanta Falcons/Florida