clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine SEC running backs named to 2020 Doak Walker Award watch list

Najee Harris and Kylin Hill chief among them.

Vrbo Citrus Bowl - Michigan v Alabama Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Nine running backs from the Southeastern Conference have been named to the 2020 Doak Walker Award watch list.

The award given out annually to the best running back in the nation is once again featuring an outstanding list of candidates from across the college football landscape.

Eight teams from the SEC are represented, with one team - the Georgia Bulldogs - having two names on the list in Zamir White and James Cook . Alabama Crimson Tide running back Najee Harris, who probably figures to be one of the favorites for the award, is unsurprisingly on the list. If Harris were to win, he would become the third ‘Bama running back since 2011 to net the award, joining Trent Richardson and Heisman Trophy winner Derrick Henry.

In addition to Harris, White and Cook, there are several other notable names on the list. Kylin Hill of the Mississippi St. Bulldogs is on the list, as is senior Rakeem Boyd of the Arkansas Razorbacks. Larry Rountree III of the Missouri Tigers joins the group too as another veteran vying for the coveted honor.

Lastly, there are a group of sophomores who are in the mix for the award. D.J. Williams of the Auburn Tigers, Eric Gray of the Tennessee Volunteers, Isaiah Spiller of the Texas A&M Aggies are also on the list, joining the aforementioned White as second-year players who have a shot at taking home the trophy.

Other notable contenders for the award from non-SEC schools include Chuba Hubbard of the Oklahoma State Cowboys, who led the nation in rushing yards a season ago. Also joining Hubbard is Buffalo Bulls running back Jaret Patterson, who finished fifth in rushing yards in 2019, and Travis Etienne of the Clemson Tigers as well. Javian Hawkins of the Louisville Cardinals, who led all freshmen in rushing yards last year, sees his name on the list too.