clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LSU’s Ed Orgeron named AP Coach of the Year

Da Coach O is Da Coach of the Year.

NCAA Football: SEC Championship-Georgia vs Louisiana State Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

You coach a team up to a 13-0 record, you win AP Coach of the Year.

That’s the case for LSU Tigers head coach Ed Orgeron. The Fighting Tigers’ head man was voted as the Associated Press’ Coach of the Year, the AP revealed on Tuesday.

Coach O placed ahead of a strong field that included Matt Rhule of the Baylor Bears, Ryan Day of the Ohio State Buckeyes and P.J. Fleck of the Minnesota Golden Gophers. He fetched 33 first-place votes of a maximum 56, and picked up 130 total points, meaning he won by 44 points over Rhule, who fetched 86 total points.

It is very hard to deny that Coach O is deserving of this award. So, cheers to Ed!