clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Doak Walker Award Watch List: Damien Harris, Benny Snell Jr. and D’Andre Swift among candidates

Nine running backs from the SEC were named to the list.

CFP National Championship presented by AT&T - Alabama v Georgia Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Nine running backs from your favorite conference’s favorite conference were tabbed on the 2018 Doak Walker Award Watch List earlier this week.

Leading the way were the two top backs from the SEC’s top two teams. That being Damien Harris from the Alabama Crimson Tide and D’Andre Swift of the Georgia Bulldogs. Swift is expected to have a huge season with Nick Chubb and Sony Michel having departed for the NFL, and has shown many flashes of brilliance so far in his career. Harris, meanwhile, has already gotten the lion’s share of the work down in Tuscaloosa and will be expected to do so again.

Benny Snell, Jr. of the Kentucky Wildcats is another name that made it onto the list. Snell is one of the best running backs in the nation that doesn’t get nearly enough credit as he should. It should come as no surprise that he made it onto the list, and Snell should prove to be a force on the field in 2018 and be a strong contender for the award.

The only team from the SEC to get two running backs on the list was the Arkansas Razorbacks. Sophomore tailback Chase Hayden and senior back Devwah Whaley were recognized and placed on the list, a high honor for both and the Hogs, in general.

Four other teams got their best backs on the list, as well. Damarea Crockett of the Missouri Tigers, Rico Dowdle of the South Carolina Gamecocks, Trayveon Williams of the Texas A&M Aggies and finally Aeris Williams of the Mississippi State Bulldogs are all contenders for the award.