clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Bednarik Award Watch List: Grant Delpit heads field of 15 SEC players featured

WATCH LIST season continues.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 29 Ole Miss at LSU Photo by Stephen Lew/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

First Team All-SEC linebacker and unanimous All-American Grant Delpit is among the 15 SEC players featured on the 2019 Bednarik Award watch list.

The star safety for the LSU Tigers is heading into his junior season with high expectations and as such, he finds himself among the field of talented defensive players vying for the award handed out annually to the Defensive Player of the Year.

Delpit is not the only Tiger on the list. Kristian Fulton, star defensive back, is also prominently featured. Fulton will be heading a secondary that will be absent Greedy Williams now of course. But Fulton is certainly talented enough to shoulder that loud and should again be a star for the Fighting Tigers.

Elsewhere in the SEC, the Alabama Crimson Tide have two representatives, as well. Those reps are Dylan Moses and Raekwon Davis. Moses and The Chef certainly had stellar 2018s, and the expectation is that they will lead the usually potent and stingy Bama defense again in 2019. Elsewhere in the state of Alabama, Auburn Tigers defensive tackle Derrick Brown is another player to be featured on this watch list.

The Florida Gators have two players on this list as well. Defensive end Jabari Zuniga and cornerback CJ Henderson made the cut, as they’ll be spotlighting in The Swamp this upcoming year. Meanwhile, safety J.R. Reed from the Georgia Bulldogs is on the list. Perhaps surprisingly, he’s the only UGA player to receive recognition, but they did have some departures this season so that adds up in that regard.

Other players from the SEC to be featured prominently here include Arkansas Razorbacks defensive tackle McTelvin Agim, Mississippi State Bulldogs cornerback Cameron Dantzler and linebacker Erroll Thompson, Missouri Tigers linebacker Cale Garrett, South Carolina Gamecocks defensive tackle Javon Kinlaw, Texas A&M Aggies defensive lineman Justin Madubuike and Tennessee Volunteers defensive end Darrell Taylor.