clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Women’s College World Series: Florida, Georgia ousted from OKC

The SEC won’t have a representative in the final series.

The 2018 softball season is officially over for the Southeastern Conference.

In elimination games on Saturday, both the Georgia Bulldogs and Florida Gators lost their opportunities to stay alive in OKC. As a result, both the Dawgs and Gators will be going home, effectively ending the conference’s chances of possessing the 2018 NCAA Softball Champion.

Georgia lost 7-2 to the Florida State Seminoles in the first SEC game of the day. Then, Florida fell to the back-to-back defending champion Oklahoma Sooners 2-0. It was about as sour an end to what was a terrific year for the conference, as they once again got all 13 teams in the NCAA Softball Tournament.

It’s now down to OU, FSU, UCLA and Washington for the right to play on Monday. Those games will begin later Sunday afternoon. Best of luck to all of them involved right now.