clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nick Chubb, Jarrett Stidham and Levi Wallace are the SEC Players of the Week for Week 5

We have co-Offensive Players of the Week for the first time. Meanwhile, an Alabama DB is the DPOW.

Mississippi v Alabama Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The SEC announced the Week 5 Players of the Week on Monday.

Running back Nick Chubb and quarterback Jarrett Stidham are Co-Offensive Players of the Week this time around. The UGA back ran for 109 yards on 16 carries in the romp of Tennessee, earning his 20th career game with at least 100 rushing yards. Auburn’s QB meanwhile threw for 264 yards and two touchdowns while completing 81.25 percent of his 16 passes. Stidham helped lead the Tigers to a 49-10 win over Mississippi State in the process.

Alabama Crimson Tide defensive back Levi Wallace meanwhile won Defensive Player of the Week. In the Tide’s win over the Ole Miss Rebels, Wallace picked up two INTs, one going back for a touchdown. ‘Bama shut down the Rebels’ high-octane passing offense and Wallace was an integral part of that breakdown.

The Special Teams Player of the Week is Kentucky Wildcats defensive end Josh Paschal. Paschal helped UK win over Eastern Michigan with his blocked punt late in the game. The punt block eventually set up a TD that would essentially clinch the victory for the Wildcats. Paschal also picked up 0.5 a sack earlier in the game.

The Co-Freshmen of the Week were Florida Gators running back Malik Davis and Auburn defensive lineman Nick Coe. Davis ran for 124 yards, a career high, against the Vanderbilt Commodores. Davis’ performance helped lead the Gators to their 38-24 victory and 3-0 start in SEC play. He also hit the end zone twice in the win.

Coe, meanwhile, picked up 0.5 TFL and six tackles. The six tackles amounted by the Tigers defensive lineman were also a career-high mark for him. Needless to say, he balled out against the Bulldogs.

Linemen Brett Heggie of Florida and Landis Durham of Texas A&M were the Linemen of the Week. It’s both men’s first time winning the award this season.