clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Super Bowl 50: 11 SEC Players Won NFL Championship With the Denver Broncos

The win for the Broncos has given a slew of former SEC players new jewelry.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The Denver Broncos won Super Bowl 50 by beating the Carolina Panthers by a score of 24-10. This win means 11 former players from SEC schools now can add an "NFL Champion" line to their resumes:

  • Andre Caldwell, Florida
  • Britton Colquitt, Tennessee
  • Max Garcia, Florida
  • Malik Jackson, Tennessee
  • Peyton Manning, Tennessee
  • Evan Mathis, Alabama
  • Lerentee McCray, Florida
  • Von Miller, Texas A&M
  • Shane Ray, Missouri
  • Darian Stewart, South Carolina
  • Danny Trevathan, Kentucky

Miller was the game's MVP, as the Bronco defense was the best unit on the field all night. He got a strip sack on Cam Newton in the first quarter that Jackson returned for the game's first touchdown. Miller effectively ended the game as well, as he forced a Newton fumble in the fourth quarter with his team up seven that, five plays later, led to the game icing touchdown. Trevathan also led the Broncos in tackles on the night.

And yes, I know that Miller didn't actually play in the SEC. Though he did all of his collegiate work in the Big 12, the SEC claims all those guys now because it can.

Congratulations to all the winners!