clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Maxwell Award watch list: Tua Tagovailoa among 16 SEC players featured

It’s WATCH LIST season!

College Football Playoff National Championship Presented By AT&T - Alabama v Clemson Photo by Jamie Schwaberow/Getty Images

2018 Heisman Trophy runner-up Tua Tagovailoa headlines a group of 16 players named to the 2019 Maxwell Award Watch List.

The award given to the Best College Football Player each year produced its watch list on Monday morning. Tagovailoa’s inclusion is no surprise to anyone who watches and follows the sport, as he had a brilliant season with the Alabama Crimson Tide a year ago.

He’s not the only player from the Tide to make the list either. Running back Najee Harris and wide receiver Jerry Jeudy were also featured. Jeudy, the reigning Biletnikoff Award winner, had a sensational 2018 and Harris, meanwhile, did very well in spurts a season ago.

Tua is also one of eight QBs from the SEC to be named to this watch list. Jake Fromm of the Georgia Bulldogs is one of those names, unsurprisingly. Fromm has done a great job under center for the Dawgs these last two seasons, and should be poised for another great year under center in 2019. Joining them are Jake Bentley of the South Carolina Gamecocks, Kelly Bryant of the Missouri Tigers, as well as Joe Burrow of the LSU Tigers. Additionally, Feleipe Franks of the Florida Gators, Jarrett Guarantano of the Tennessee Volunteers and Kellen Mond of the Texas A&M Aggies were named too.

There’s a pretty spectacular group of running backs on the list that join Najee Harris. Clyde Edwards-Helaire of LSU, Kylin Hill of the Mississippi St. Bulldogs, Lamical Perine of Florida, Scottie Phillips of the Ole Miss Rebels, D’Andre Swift of Georgia and Ke’Shawn Vaughn of the Vanderbilt Commodores made the cut for the watch list.