clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jalen Hurts, Jacob Eason and Nick Fitzgerald highlight SEC quarterbacks named to Davey O’Brien watch list

Six, in total, made the cut.

NCAA Football: Alabama Spring Game-A-Day Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

Six quarterbacks from the Southeastern Conference were named to the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award watch list on Wednesday.

Headlining the group is Alabama signal caller Jalen Hurts. Hurts, of course, was the SEC’s Freshman of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year in 2016, helping lead the Tide to the College Football Playoff Championship Game where they would ultimately lose to Deshaun Watson and Clemson.

Also in the batch of QBs up for the award from the jump are Georgia’s Jacob Eason and Mississippi State’s Nick Fitzgerald. Eason and Fitzgerald are two of the brightest stars under center in the SEC, with both looking poised to perform at a high level this fall.

These three were not the only ones from the conference to be in the group, though. Three more talented signal callers were able to get nominated onto the watch list following stellar showings in 2016. ArkansasAustin Allen, South Carolina’s Jake Bentley and Ole MissShea Patterson were also given the nod. Allen, of course, is the more experienced of the three while Bentley and Patterson look to build off solid freshman seasons for their teams.

The full list, featuring the likes of Wyoming’s Josh Allen, Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, USC’s Sam Darnold, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, UCLA’s Josh Rosen and Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph among others, can be found here.