clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

11 former SEC players win Super Bowl LII with Philadelphia Eagles

LSU’s Jalen Mills records nine tackles, including six solo in the Super Bowl.

NFL: Super Bowl LII-Philadelphia Eagles vs New England Patriots Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Eleven former Southeastern Conference players are now Super Bowl champions after the Philadelphia Eagles defeated the defending champion New England Patriots 41-33 on Sunday in Super Bowl LII at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

Florida leads the way with three former standouts: Trey Burton, Caleb Sturgis and Jaylen Watkins. LSU is the only other SEC school with more than one player with Donnie Jones and Jalen Mills.

During Sunday’s game, tight end Burton threw a 2-yard touchdown pass on fourth-and-goal to quarterback Nick Foles with less than a minute left in the first half.

Wide receiver Alshon Jeffery (South Carolina) made three receptions for 73 yards and one touchdown. He also recorded one tackle.

Defensively, cornerback Mills led the Eagles with nine tackles — six solo. Defensive tackle Fletcher Cox (Mississippi State) also had one tackle and defensive end Derek Barnett (Tennessee) recovered a fumble in the fourth quarter.

On special teams, Jones had one punt for 41 yards.

Eagles general manager Howie Roseman is also a Florida graduate.


Alabama: Chance Warmack (G)

Arkansas: *Jason Peters (T)

Florida: Trey Burton (TE), *Caleb Sturgis (K), Jaylen Watkins (S)

Georgia: Dannell Ellerbe (LB)

LSU: Donnie Jones (P), Jalen Mills (CB)

Mississippi State: Fletcher Cox (DT)

South Carolina: Alshon Jeffery (WR)

Tennessee: Derek Barnett (DE)

*On injured reserve and did not play