clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

18 former SEC players make Super Bowl LII rosters

Florida and LSU each have three former standouts set to compete in the big game.

AFC Championship - Jacksonville Jaguars v New England Patriots Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

The New England Patriots will seek their sixth Super Bowl under head coach Bill Belichick when they play the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl 52 on Sunday.

The game is scheduled to kickoff at 6:30 p.m. ET at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

It’s the second Super Bowl matchup between the two franchises. The Patriots defeated the Eagles 24-21 in Super Bowl XXXIX to become repeat as NFL champions in 2005. New England will again try to repeat as champions after last year’s 34-28 overtime victory over the Atlanta Falcons.

This year’s Super Bowl will feature 18 former Southeastern Conference players, led by three each for Florida and LSU with two Patriots and one Eagles player. Arkansas has two representatives with New England.

Aside from Florida and LSU, Georgia and South Carolina are the only schools with players on both teams.

The two former Gamecocks could go head-to-head with Eagles wide receiver Alshon Jeffery and Patriots defensive back Stephon Gilmore.

Kentucky, Missouri and Texas A&M are the only SEC schools without a former player represented.

New England

Arkansas: Trey Flowers (DL), Deatrich Wise (DL)

Auburn: Brandon King (DB)

Florida: Mike Gillislee (RB)

Georgia: David Andrews (C)

LSU: Ricky Jean Francois (DL)

Ole Miss: Brandon Bolden (RB)

South Carolina: Stephon Gilmore (CB)

Vanderbilt: Adam Butler (DL)


Alabama: Chance Warmack (G)

Florida: Trey Burton (TE), Jaylen Watkins (S)

Georgia: Dannell Ellerbe (LB)

LSU: Donnie Jones (P), Jalen Mills (CB)

Mississippi State: Fletcher Cox (DT)

South Carolina: Alshon Jeffery (WR)

Tennessee: Derek Barnett (DE)

How to watch Super Bowl LII

Date: Sunday, Feb. 4

Time: 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT

Where: U.S. Bank Stadium, Minneapolis