clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Preseason Coaches All-SEC teams announced

The usual suspects headline the field.

NCAA Football: Citrus Bowl-Louisiana State vs Louisville Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Preseason Coaches All-SEC teams were announced on Thursday, bringing us one step closer to the start of the season.

Reading up and down the list, there are few surprises, if any. The usual suspects were given recognition by the 14 coaches in the conference.

Reigning Freshman and Offensive Player of the Year Jalen Hurts (Alabama) leads the charge for the 1st Team offense. Hurts is joined by Derrius Guice (LSU) and Nick Chubb (Georgia), a pair of dangerous running backs. Christian Kirk (Texas A&M) and Calvin Ridley (Alabama) are the wide receivers and Hayden Hurst (South Carolina) is the tight end on offense.

The line is a darn good one. Braden Smith (Auburn), Martez Ivey (Florida), Jonah Williams (Alabama), Ross Pierschbacher (Alabama) and Frank Ragnow (Arkansas) stand as the five O-Linemen selected to the 1st Team.

The usual suspects find themselves on defense as well. The defensive line is a stout and pressure-packed one. Da’Shawn Hand and Da’Ron Payne (Alabama) are aboard with Trenton Thompson (Georgia) and Marquis Haynes (Ole Miss) opposite them. At linebacker, Arden Key (LSU) is the standout with Skai Moore (South Carolina) and Roquan Smith (Georgia) playing alongside.

The DBs are extremely talented. Minkah Fitzpatrick and Ronnie Harrison (Alabama) are the corners, and Armani Watts (Texas A&M) and Duke Dawson (Florida) are the safeties. Try (theoretically) throwing on them.

The special teams unit consists of the aforementioned Christian Kirk with Daniel Carlson (Auburn) and JK Scott (Alabama) as your kicker and punter. Not too shabby.

The Second and Third teams aren’t featuring many slouches either. They are as followed:


QB: Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State)

RB: Kamryn Pettway (Auburn), Bo Scarbrough (Alabama)

WR: J’Mon Moore (Missouri), Antonio Callaway (Florida)

TE: Isaac Nauta (Georgia)

OL: Martinas Rankin (Mississippi State), K.J. Malone (LSU), Koda Martin (Texas A&M), Paul Adams (Missouri), Isaiah Wynn (Georgia), Will Clapp (LSU)

AP: Derrius Guice (LSU)

DL: Cece Jefferson (Florida), Marlon Davidson (Auburn), Jabari Zuniga (Florida), Denzil Ware (Kentucky), Dontavius Russell (Auburn)

LB: Jordan Jones (Kentucky), Rashaan Evans (Alabama), Tre’ Williams (Auburn)

DB: Donte Jackson (LSU), Dominick Sanders (Georgia), Carlton Davis (Auburn), Tray Matthews (Auburn)

PK: Gary Wunderlich (Ole Miss)

P: Johnny Townsend (Florida)

RS: Evan Berry (Tennessee)


QB: Austin Allen (Arkansas)

RB: Ralph Webb (Vanderbilt Commodores), Benny Snell (Kentucky)

WR: Deebo Samuel (South Carolina), Jauan Jennings (Tennessee)

TE: C.J. Conrad (Kentucky), DeAndre Goolsby (Florida)

OL: Jashon Robertson (Tennessee), Jawaan Taylor (Florida), Zack Bailey (South Carolina), Hjalte Froholdt (Arkansas), Bradley Bozeman (Alabama)

AP: Brandon Powell (Florida), Deebo Samuel (South Carolina), Kerryon Johnson (Auburn), Trevon Diggs (Alabama)

DL: Terry Beckner Jr. (Missouri), Jonathan Ledbetter (Georgia), Christian LaCouture (LSU), Marcell Frazier (Missouri)

LB: Oren Burks (Vanderbilt), Shaun Dion Hamilton (Alabama), Lorenzo Carter (Georgia)

DB: Anthony Averett (Alabama), Mike Edwards (Kentucky), Chauncey Gardner (Florida), Ryan Pulley (Arkansas)

K: Austin MacGinnis (Kentucky), Eddy Pineiro (Florida)

P: Trevor Daniel (Tennessee)

RS: Antonio Callaway (Florida)