clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 SEC Softball Tournament final score: Ole Miss defeats LSU 5-1 to win first title

The Rebels make a bit of history!


The Ole Miss Rebels are the 2017 SEC Softball Tournament Champions!

The Rebels captured their first-ever SEC Tourney title with their 5-1 victory over the sixth-seeded LSU Tigers on Saturday night. Ole Miss made the most of their first championship game appearance, pouncing on the Tigers with a four-run second inning and never trailed once in the game.

Elantra Cox put up the two runs of the game with a double to left field. Then, a batter later, Kylan Becker stepped up and hit a single to bring Cox and Dakota Matiko home for the third and fourth runs of the game. The Rebs wouldn’t score until the seventh inning when Dylinn Stancil reached on an error. The mishap led to Becker scoring the fifth run after she’d reached base on a walk drawn two batters earlier, and that was all Ole Miss would need to make history in Knoxville.

All LSU could muster was one run that came in the fourth inning. The lone tally came off the bat of Constance Quinn who delivered a sac bunt that brought Tigers star Bailey Landry home.

Kaitlin Lee had another outstanding performance, capping off a week in which the Rebels hurler threw in every single inning that the Rebels played in. On Saturday night, she struck out two, issued no walks and allowed merely five hits and the one earned run. No extra-base hits came to pass against Lee, and only two were allowed off her the entire tournament.

Congrats to Ole Miss!