clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minkah Fitzpatrick wins 2017 Bednarik Award

Fitzpatrick’s big night continues!

NCAA Football: CFP National Championship-Clemson vs Alabama Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

For the second straight year, a member of the Alabama Crimson Tide has won the Bednarik Award!

2016’s award went to Jonathan Allen, while 2017’s went to Tide safety Minkah Fitzpatrick.

It was Fitzpatrick’s second award of the night, as he also took home the Thorpe Award.

Allen and Fitzpatrick are the only two players in Alabama history to win the award.

Fitzpatrick had 52 total tackles, 6.0 TFL, 1.5 sacks, an INT, six PD and one forced fumble this season.