clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 AP All-SEC team announced

Kerryon Johnson, Calvin Ridley, Roquan Smith and Minkah Fitzpatrick headline the First Team.

SEC Championship - Auburn v Georgia Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The Associated Press announced its All-SEC team for the 2017 college football season.

Headlining the group is Georgia Bulldogs linebacker Roquan Smith. The Bednarik Award finalist certainly deserved the honor after having a fantastic season with the Dawgs. He’s also joined by fellow Bednarik Award finalist Minkah Fitzpatrick. The Alabama Crimson Tide defensive back was phenomenal all season, so it comes as no surprise that he heads the secondary.

The offense features Auburn Tigers running back Kerryon Johnson. Johnson was sensational this season and was one of the driving forces for the SEC West champion Tigers this year. Alabama wide receiver Calvin Ridley also made the first team after another terrific season catching passes for the Tide.

Mizzou Tigers quarterback Drew Lock is also on the First Team. Lock had an historic season in Columbia, breaking the conference record for most TD passes thrown in a single season (43). Celebrated Auburn kicker Daniel Carlson also made the team, as did Ole Miss Rebels wide receiver A.J. Brown and many more.

Here’s the First and Second Teams in all their glory.

AP All-SEC First Team

Player Team
Player Team
Drew Lock Missouri
Kerryon Johnson Auburn
Benny Snell Jr. Kentucky
A.J. Brown Ole Miss
Calvin Ridley Alabama
Hayden Hurst South Carolina
Jonah Williams Alabama
Braden Smith Auburn
Bradley Bozeman Alabama
Will Clapp LSU
Ross Pierschbacher Alabama
Isaiah Wynn Georgia
Christian Kirk (AP) Texas A&M
Jeff Holland Auburn
Da'Ron Payne Alabama
Jeffery Simmons Mississippi State
Montez Sweat Mississippi State
Roquan Smith Georgia
Devin White LSU
Rashaan Evans Alabama
Arden Key LSU
Andraez Williams LSU
Armani Watts Texas A&M
Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama
Ronnie Harrison Alabama
Daniel Carlson Auburn
Johnny Townsend Florida

AP All-SEC Second Team

Player Team
Player Team
Jarrett Stidham Auburn
Nick Chubb Georgia
Derrius Guice LSU
J'Mon Moore Missouri
Christian Kirk Texas A&M
Albert Okwuegbunam Missouri
Martinas Rankin Mississippi State
Trey Smith Tennessee
Frank Ragnow Arkansas
Greg Little Ole Miss
Martez Ivey Florida
Mecole Hardman (AP) Georgia
D.J. Chark (AP) LSU
Marcell Frazier Missouri
Taven Bryan Florida
Raekwon Davis Alabama
Breeland Speaks Ole Miss
Marquis Haynes Ole Miss
Dante Sawyer South Carolina
Josh Allen Kentucky
Lorenzo Carter Georgia
De'Jon Harris Arkansas
Skai Moore South Carolina
Charles Wright Vanderbilt
Duke Dawson Florida
Levi Wallace Alabama
Carlton Davis Auburn
C.J. Henderson Florida
J.R. Reed Georgia
Eddy Pineiro Florida
J.K. Scott Alabama