clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Georgia earns SEC Championship with blowout win over Auburn

The Dawgs are on top for the first time since 2005.

SEC Championship - Auburn v Georgia Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

For the first time since 2005, the Georgia Bulldogs are SEC Champions.

The Bulldogs blew out the Auburn Tigers at Mercedes Benz Stadium in Atlanta Saturday afternoon, earning a 28-7 victory. The victory gives UGA their 15th conference championship in program history and third of the 21st century.

Unsurprisingly, the Bulldogs rushing attack was integral in the win. D’Andre Swift, Nick Chubb and Sony Michel were most instrumental, each running for at least 45 yards. Swift ran for a game-high 88 yards on just seven carries. Chubb chugged for 77 yards on 13 carries, while Michel gained 45 on seven. As a team, UGA collected 238 yards on 41 rushing attempts.

Georgia’s defense held strong, allowing just 114 yards on the ground and 145 through the air. Jarrett Stidham started out hot, but finished 16-32 on the day. Kerryon Johnson, playing hurt, amassed only 44 yards on 13 carries. Ryan Davis racked up seven receptions, but no other Auburn player got more than two.

UGA’s win all but ensures that the ‘Dawgs will be in the College Football Playoff. Ranked sixth going into the weekend, UGA should hop the Alabama Crimson Tide and Auburn Tigers. Where they stand in the Top 4 is the only question that ought to be asked.

It’s worth wondering what Auburn’s fate will be for their bowl game. The Citrus Bowl is a definitive possibility. It’s also worth wondering if Gus Malzahn will be their head coach for their bowl game or not.

Nevertheless, celebrate while you can, UGA fans. You’ve certainly earned that right.

More reactions to come.