clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

14 SEC players named to 2017 Associated Press All-American teams

Four Auburn players make the list.

Arkansas State v Auburn Photo by Michael Chang/Getty Images

Fourteen Southeastern Conference players were named to The Associated Press All-America team Monday. The All-America team is selected by a panel of 17 Top 25 voters.

Auburn has the most of any SEC team with four players: Guard Braden Smith (first team) and kicker Daniel Carlson, cornerback Carlton Davis and running back Kerryon Johnson (second team).

Alabama is next with three players: safety Minkah Fitzpatrick (first team), center Bradley Bozeman (second team) and Jonah Williams (third team). Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith (first team) and tackle Isaiah Wynn (second team) also made the list.

Arkansas center Frank Ragnow, Florida kicker Eddy Piniero, LSU cornerback Andraez Williams, Mississippi wide receiver A.J. Brown and Texas A&M safety Armani Watts all made the third team.

Kentucky, Missouri, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt did not have a player named an All-American.



Quarterback - Baker Mayfield, senior, Oklahoma.

Running backs - Bryce Love, junior, Stanford; Rashaad Penny, senior, San Diego State.

Tackles - Orlando Brown, junior, Oklahoma; Mike McGlinchey, senior, Notre Dame.

Guards - Quenton Nelson, senior, Notre Dame; Braden Smith, senior, Auburn.

Center - Billy Price, senior, Ohio State.

Tight end - Mark Andrews, junior, Oklahoma.

Receivers - James Washington, senior, Oklahoma State; Anthony Miller, senior, Memphis.

All-purpose player - Saquon Barkley, junior, Penn State.

Kicker - Matt Gay, junior, Utah.


Ends - Bradley Chubb, senior, North Carolina State; Clelin Ferrell, sophomore, Clemson.

Tackles - Hercules Mata'afa, junior, Washington State; Maurice Hurst, senior, Michigan.

Linebackers - Roquan Smith, junior, Georgia; Josey Jewell, senior, Iowa; T.J. Edwards, junior, Wisconsin.

Cornerbacks - Josh Jackson, junior, Iowa; Denzel Ward, junior, Ohio State.

Safeties - Minkah Fitzpatrick, junior, Alabama; DeShon Elliott, junior, Texas.

Punter - Michael Dickson, junior, Texas.



Quarterback - Lamar Jackson, junior, Louisville.

Running backs - Jonathan Taylor, freshman, Wisconsin; Kerryon Johnson, junior, Auburn.

Tackles - Mitch Hyatt, junior, Clemson; Isaiah Wynn, senior, Georgia.

Guards - Cody O'Connell, senior, Washington State; Will Hernandez, senior, UTEP.

Center - Bradley Bozeman, senior, Alabama.

Tight end - Troy Fumagalli, senior, Wisconsin.

Receivers - David Sills V, junior, West Virginia; Michael Gallup, senior, Colorado State.

All-purpose player - Dante Pettis, senior, Washington.

Kicker - Daniel Carlson, senior, Auburn.


Ends - Sutton Smith, sophomore, Northern Illinois; Nick Bosa, sophomore, Ohio State.

Tackles - Ed Oliver, sophomore, Houston; Christian Wilkins, junior, Clemson.

Linebackers - Malik Jefferson, junior, Texas; Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, senior, Oklahoma; Dorian O'Daniel, senior, Clemson.

Cornerbacks - Jalen Davis, senior, Utah State; Carlton Davis, junior, Auburn.

Safeties - Derwin James, junior, Florida State; Justin Reid, junior, Stanford.

Punter - Johnny Townsend, senior, Florida.



Quarterback - Mason Rudolph, senior, Oklahoma State.

Running backs - Ronald Jones II, junior, Southern California; Devin Singletary, sophomore, Florida Atlantic.

Tackles - David Edwards, sophomore, Wisconsin; Jonah Williams, sophomore, Alabama.

Guards - Beau Benzschawel, junior, Wisconsin; Tyrone Crowder, senior, Clemson.

Center - Frank Ragnow, senior, Arkansas.

Tight end - Jaylen Samuels, senior, North Carolina State.

Receivers - Steve Ishmael, senior, Syracuse; A.J. Brown, sophomore, Mississippi.

All-purpose player - D.J. Reed, junior, Kansas State.

Kicker - Eddy Piniero, junior, Florida.


Ends - Austin Bryant, junior, Clemson; Mat Boesen, senior, TCU.

Tackles - Vita Vea, junior, Washington; Harrison Phillips, senior, Stanford.

Linebackers - Micah Kiser, senior, Virginia; Tremaine Edmunds, junior, Virginia Tech; Devin Bush, sophomore, Michigan.

Cornerbacks - Andraez Williams, redshirt freshman, LSU; Jack Jones, sophomore, Southern California.

Safeties - Armani Watts, senior, Texas A&M; Quin Blanding, senior, Virginia.

Punter - Mitch Wisnowsky, junior, Utah.