clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Maxwell and Bednarik Award watch lists released

Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

After months of grappling with the agony that accompanies the college football offseason, it is finally becoming clear that the 2016 season is within view.

One such indication that that is the case came today, as the Maxwell Club announced which college players made its 2016 watch lists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards.  The Maxwell Award is traditionally given to whomever the Maxwell Club deems is the best player in the country, while the Bednarik Award is given to whomever they deem is the country's best defensive player.

Since the season has not started yet, the lists are obviously full of players from around the country who have the potential to shape the college football landscape in the 2016 season.  One thing is clear, however:  the SEC's defensive dominance is expected to continue on into 2016, as they landed 24 names on the 90-man watch list.  Below, you can find the list of the SEC players named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

Bednarik Award
Player School Position Year
Jamal Adams LSU S Jr.
Jonathan Allen Alabama DE Sr.
Derek Barnett Tennessee DE Jr.
Kendell Beckwith LSU LB Sr.
Tony Conner Ole Miss S Sr.
Zach Cunningham Vanderbilt LB Jr.
Jarrad Davis Florida LB Sr.
Johnathan Ford Auburn DB Sr.
Reuben Foster Alabama LB Sr.
Myles Garrett Texas A&M DE Jr.
Daeshon Hall Texas A&M DE Sr.
Charles Harris Missouri DE Jr.
Marquis Haynes Ole Miss DE Jr.
Eddie Jackson Alabama S Sr.
Carl Lawson Auburn DE Jr.
Marcus Maye Florida S Sr.
Jalen Reeves-Maybin Tennessee LB


Dominick Sanders Georgia S Jr.
Cameron Sutton Tennessee CB Sr.
Jalen Tabor Florida CB Jr.
Armani Watts Texas A&M S Jr.
Tre'Davious White LSU CB Sr.
Tim Williams Alabama LB


Deatrich Wise Arkansas DE


Now, the Maxwell Award watch list does not have nearly as many SEC players on it, but upon looking through it, you're sure to notice many SEC players that may have have earned your praise or ire last season, depending on what school you root for.

Maxwell Award
Player School Position Year
Nick Chubb Georgia RB Jr.
Josh Dobbs Tennessee QB Sr.
Leonard Fournette LSU RB Jr.
O.J. Howard Alabama TE Sr.
Jalen Hurd Tennessee RB Jr.
Chad Kelly Ole Miss QB Sr.
Christian Kirk Texas A&M WR So.
Trevor Knight Texas A&M QB Sr.
Calvin Ridley Alabama WR So.

The winners of these awards won't be announced until December 8th, but it's clear by looking at the amount of talented players on both of these lists that the SEC has a pretty good shot at having a few more trophy-winning players in its ranks.

Note:  The full watch lists can be found at