clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State wins the 2016 SEC baseball regular season championship!

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

For the first time since 1989, the Mississippi State Bulldogs are SEC Champions in baseball!

The Bulldogs finished the season with a record of 21-9 in conference, besting that of Texas A&M whose mark of 20-10 wasn't quite enough to earn first place honors in the SEC West or the conference as a whole. It is the 11th conference championship for Mississippi State as a member of the SEC.

They will now look to match it with an SEC Tournament title, a feat that has not been accomplished since 1987 when they won both the conference regular season and tournament titles. The Bulldogs last won an SEC Tournament title in 2012.

Congrats, and Hail State!