clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Auburn Tigers are the 2016 SEC Softball Tournament champions!

Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images

The Auburn Tigers defeated the LSU Tigers 7-1 to become the 2016 SEC Softball Tournament champions!

It's the Tigers' second consecutive SEC Tournament title, and second overall in program history, after they took home the crown last season by defeating the Tennessee Volunteers 6-5. This time around it was a little less dramatic as the Tigers blew the doors open against LSU early with a 4-run first inning. They would go on to tack on another run later on, and then Tiffany Howard's first career homer - a two-run blast in the bottom of the sixth - was the exclamation point.

(h/t Dana Sulonen)

Auburn held their opponents to just one run scored in one of the better pitching performances of the entire tournament.

The win will surely send Auburn to their 12th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and will look to make the Women's College World Series for only the second time in program history. The first came in 2015.

Congratulations to Auburn!