clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 SEC football season awards announced

The Tide are well represented as expected.

NCAA Football: SEC Championship-Alabama vs Florida John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The Alabama Crimson Tide featured five of the seven regular season awards handed out by the Southeastern Conference on Wednesday evening.

After a 13-0 season, punctuated by a thumping in the SEC Championship Game, the Tide can hold claim to the conference’s Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Freshman and Coach of the Year as Jalen Hurts, Jonathan Allen and Nick Saban took home the coveted hardware.

Hurts doubled up on the awards as he came away with the Offensive Player of the Year award and the Freshman of the Year award as well after a terrific year under center for the Tide. Allen meanwhile was the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year after having a dominant season on the defensive line.

Saban meanwhile won his first Coach of the Year award since 2009, which probably tells you all you need to know about the award given the enormous amount of success that Alabama has had since then.

The other trophy that went to Alabama was the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which is awarded to the best blocker in the conference. Crimson Tide tackle Cam Robinson picked up the hardware after performing terrifically during the 2016 season.

Elsewhere, Daniel Carlson of Auburn picked up Special Teams Player of the Year honors and Brooks Ellis of Arkansas was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.