clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team Announced

The SEC has posted the preseason All-SEC team as voted upon by the coaches.

Believe it or not, Alabama does not have the most selections as it does in Phil Steele's preseason All-SEC team. Rather, Arkansas hold the honor with 13 players across 14 selections (Joe Adams is honored as a receiver and all-purpose player). Alabama is second with 12 players across 13 selections (Trent Richardson is honored as a running back and all-purpose player). The difference doesn't even have to do with the fact that Steele has four teams and the coaches have three, as neither school had a Steele fourth team selection.

After those two, the next highest are Georgia and South Carolina tied at nine selections apiece, though Georgia has only eight players with Brandon Boykin honored as a CB and return specialist. Next come LSU and Auburn tied with seven players each, followed by Florida with six. Ole Miss, Mississippi State, and Vandy are deadlocked with four selections, with Kentucky's three and (ouch) Tennessee's two bringing up the rear. It should be noted that Janzen Jackson is not listed because he almost certainly was not yet back on the team when the voting occurred; if he had been, I can't imagine him not making one of the teams.

If you look at just the first teamers though, that's where the Tide rolls. Bama has seven first team selections, followed up by Georgia's six and South Carolina's five. The only teams without any first team selections are Auburn, Florida, and Mississippi State.

If you assign a score to each team (three points for first, two for second, one for third), Bama again leads the way with 30. Arkansas is second with 25, followed by Georgia with 24, South Carolina with 20, and LSU with 13. No other school has at least 10 points, though Vandy and Auburn were close with nine.

Aaron Murray was picked as first team quarterback as he is everywhere else. Stephen Garcia made second team, while Chris Relf was picked for the third team. It's interesting that the coaches agree with Steele only on Murray; the Philbot had Tyler Wilson second team, Tyler Bray third team, and John Brantley fourth team. The first team running backs are Richardson and Marcus Lattimore, with Knile Davis, Jeff Demps, and "Mike" Dyer combining for second team. 

The one thing I'm fuzzy about is the presence of both a return specialist category and all-purpose category. Of the three all-purpose picks, only third team Trey Burton really counts as all-purpose as he played three different positions for UF last year (fullback, tight end, and quarterback). Adams (first team) and Richardson (second team) are I guess being honored for being both good position players and return men, but there already was a return specialist category. Plus it's not like the return specialist category is for guys who only do returns, as first teamer Boykin is also on the second team defense.

Anyway, these are who the coaches expect to be the conference's best players. The media picks will come in next week at SEC Media Days.